2017 OpenID Foundation Board of Directors Election Results

Published February 6, 2017
The OpenID Foundation is pleased to welcome Ashish Jain of VMware as the new board representative for the corporate class of members, Ashish has been elected to a one-year term. Thanks to Dale Olds, also of VMware, for his service in the past year in this role. Dale was most helpful in VMware's hosting of a successful OpenID Foundation Workshop this past October. These workshops have become important collaboration opportunities across working groups and the community at large. They were the venues for early testing and refinement of the OpenID Connect Certification Program. Now with over 120 OP Certifications listed, the Foundation turns to RP testing as a key initiative in 2017. We are also pleased to announce that John Bradley and Michael B. Jones have been re-elected as individual board representatives and have been elected to two-year terms. With no full time employees or contractors, volunteers drive the OpenID Foundation. John and Mike have provided invaluable technical expertise as well as important coordination with key standards development organizations. I would also like to thank Torsten Lodderstedt for his skillful leadership of the MODRNA Working Group that has insured an important collaboration among MNOs as well as with members like the GSMA and others. We wish Torsten well in his new endeavors and thank Verizon's Board Representative, Bjorn Hjelm, for stepping in to lead the important work of the MODRNA. The MODRNA, iGOV, HEART and other working groups reflect the increasing scope and impact of the adoption of OpenID Connect. The new energy of a new colleague like Ashish, together with expert contributions from Mike and John, will combine with contributions from board members and volunteers to make this an exciting year for OpenID and digital identity.   Regards, Don Thibeau OpenID Foundation Executive Director